The Independent London Newspaper



Gunners plan FA Cup victory parade

Main sports: 

Arsenal will parade the FA Cup around Islington on an open-top bus if they beat Hull at Wembley 

Published: 9 May, 2014
>> What no FA Cup final song? Arsenal players chant 'She Wore A Yellow Ribbon' instead

FORGET about silly superstitions or worrying about a big cup upset because plans for an open-topped bus parade to celebrate Arsenal’s FA Cup victory have already been unveiled!

The Gunners take on Hull in the Wembley showpiece next Saturday, and less than 24 hours later Islington Council are calling on supporters to take to the streets to cheer on the players as if they have had to wait nine years to see the club lift a trophy.

The four-hour celebration will see players set off from the Emirates Stadium in two open-top buses at 11am, travelling along Drayton Park, Aubert Park, Highbury Park, Highbury Grove, St Paul’s Road and into Upper Street.

The parade will arrive at the town hall at around midday, where there will be a short appearance by the players.

Following a closed reception in Islington Assembly Hall, the cup heroes will return back to the stadium for 2pm.

A council spokesperson warned that there would be a number of “road closures, parking restrictions and changes to public transport” in and around the parade route, adding, “This will be an exciting day for the borough and if the parade goes ahead we are expecting large crowds to want to celebrate with the team.

“The council will be working closely with Arsenal FC and police to ensure that if the parade goes ahead it is a safe and enjoyable event.”

Fans were also warned not to “bring any glass or alcohol” with them.

Meanwhile the excitement of reaching their FA Cup final has quickly been replaced by cringeing after Arsenal stars recorded She Wore a Yellow Ribbon as their final song.

Usually heard by fans on the terraces, members of the Gunners’ first-team squad released their own version of the classic chant.

Among the players giving it some welly are Per Mertesacker, Bacary Sagna and Thomas Vermaelen.


Post new comment